The Council of Italian Restaurants in Australia

CIRA Cooking Classes

CiRA is running a number of classes over the next few months.  Places are limited so please book early.

13th July
Tuscan Inspired Winter Dishes (Gluten free) 
Gabriele Taddeucci – Balla

4th August
"Italiano Informale"
Eugenio Maiale - A Tavola and Besser

17th August
"Sustainable Seafood"
Giovanni Pilu - Pilu at Freshwater and John Susman - Fishtales

25th August
"It's all about the Mozzarella"
Ross Candelori - Candelori's Restaurant and Danny Russo, Consultant Chef - The Italian Kitchen with Buffalo Mozzarella demonstration from La Stella Latticini

8th September
"Lombardy: From the Alps to the Lakes"
Alessandro Pavoni - Ormeggio at the Spit, Chiosco and Via Alta

14th September
Pizza and Pizza Fritta
Francesco Spataro - Aperitivo

Visit the Cooking School page for costs and booking instructions.

Sydney Italian Wine and Food Festival - Sunday 30th August 2015

A number of CIRA chefs and restaurants will be involved once again in the Sydney Italian Wine and Food Festival.  The festival will be held at Town Hall on the 30th August 2015.  For more information, please visit

CIRA Young Talent Award Recipient Announced - October 2014

On Monday 27th October 2014 at Balla Modern Italian Restaurant the 2014 Young Talent Award Winner was announced.  Congratulations to Emanuele Pagliarini from Via Alta Restaurant.

Previous Events

Click here to watch a short video of the 'La Gran Grigliata'.

The current Officers and Executive Committee members are: 

President:  Giovanni Pilu
Vice President:  Alessandro Pavoni
Treasurer:  Anna Pavoni
Secretary:  Marilyn Annecchini

Committee Members:
Roberto Dessanti
Eugenio Maiale
Paolo Orso
Danny Russo
Gabriele Taddeucci
Piero Tantini
Giuseppe Zagari




Contact Us

Click here to send us
an enquiry or call us on

Latest News & Events